Reflecting on 6 Digital Narrative Games

Playing these games made me reflect on different perspective which we might not always notice in our daily life, some sadder than others. Here’s a summary of my experience playing the 6 games:

  • Spent – very stressful game, feels like one of those days where everyone keeps asking you for thing sand you can’t just get a rest but it’s non stop. Also made me make some decisions I didn’t want to make.
    It felt like it was being very black and white in certain situations where I think I would’ve at least try to find another way to get by certain scenarios.
    But I think this is a well made game, and effective in conveying the message they wanted to convey.
  • BBC Syrian Refugees – Made me realize the level of risk that people take just to flee danger in their home country, a very sad reality. And what’s worse is that some still try to exploit those people after what they’re going through.
    I think the game would have been better if we had more time to get to know the circumstances of the life of a refugee before trying to flee rather than just jumping in making decisions right away.
  • October 1st, 2020 – Reminded me of how bad the covid days were for most, though for me they were quite enjoyable in my isolated cozy habitat called home. The game reminds me of how important it is to accommodate for people who request accommodation, especially when we don’t know their circumstances, I chose the endowed professor path and its really sad to see how he’s struggling to take care of his wife, and how he’s obligated to go by certain policies and his struggle with them. Was more a reading than a game.
  • Skills Practice A Home Visit: felt like interrogation and safety training/ a horror story where you’ll get murdered at the end. Some of the options didn’t correspond to what I thought the conversation would be. Acting wasn’t very convincing.
    I wish it was less creepy, and that it would be more of a story rather than it feeling like a training course.
  • The Voter Suppression Trail: Was a very short play through when I tried to get my kid back from school after waiting in line. Reminds me of some recent situation is some country regarding qualifying candidate elections 🤔, nothing compared to the game of course. I liked the art style of the game.
  • Losing A Parent: A very sad position to be in. Reminds me of when many month ago, a friend of mine lost his father and me and other friends went to the burial, it was very sad to see my friend devastated like that, especially when I hadn’t seen him in a long time. I also had no news of his father’s health deterioration prior, was a very devastating experience, but at least I’m happy that me and my friends came together just to be around him through this.
    I wish the game had some visuals rather than it just being a google form, but I can tell great effort went in creating the storyline.

Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started