Final Course Reflection

This blog post is intended for me to select upon this course, how affected me, and how it could affect other people.

This course, while initially seeming a bit unclear in the beginning with regards to what we’re going to learn or what kind of course work we were going to perform, ended up being a pure blast as it felt like a whole journey with my colleagues. This course had a major impact on my perception on how a classroom can be, that it can be less formal, not emotionally demanding and most importantly more focused towards the students themselves than the coursework or some final project.

I believe what I learned more in this course was less about skills related to digital literacy but more about the soft skills. One aspect of it is developing my informal and somewhat humorous writing style (I hope it was) through this blog which I didn’t get to do before, especially with course work. I believe I can utilize this in my social life and possibly my career (as in sending fun emails and making team communication more fun I guess). Another thing is the school visits, which was a completely new experience for me where I learned how to introduce other people to new subjects, foster a learning environment and collaborate on maintaining coherence along with my teammates, which I something I never imagined myself doing (educating teens). Other than that I think there were valuable smaller topic or information that we were taught throughout the semester like how to make a presentation more accessible or the coding education using escape rooms we had which I found very interesting (probably I’m the only one).

I believe the amount of collaborative assignments, activities, and projects will help me academically in how I can communicate better with teammates and build long term connections.

If I were to show my learning and experience in this course I’d most likely show my blog posts about the final school visit reflection as it’s probably the most fun I’ve had and the new experience I had in the course compared to other courses, the plot experience, and the AI pathway post reflecting my AI learning, which I assume people expect to see something purely about technical AI use.

If I could change anything about this course, it will probably be to cancel the Soliya experience as I felt like it was useless tbh, plus the fact that they keep spamming my email every once in a while. I’d also try to get some aid with regards to teaching in the school visits, like getting portable projectors or figure out a solution for the screens in the classrooms to better enable us to teach the students and be less reliant on the circumstances. I’d also make more visits to the plot where the whole class would go, because otherwise I felt highly discourage to walk the distance to the plot.

I’d say this course would be for the students who have the capacity to work in groups and be responsible for their own work. For students who are not free riders, as I have a personal wrath for those types. And for students that can express their ideas freely, or even can contribute to an environment that encourages other students to express themselves freely.


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started